Little Partners · Explore 'N Store (Soft White: LP01454)
Little Partners Explore 'N Store Learning Tower, Folding Toddler Tower
8.6/ 10
Editorial score
Stability
9.0
Heights
9.0
Storage
7.0
Safety claims
9.0
Why this score?
Enclosure & stability · 9.0
Four-sided railings, anti-tip feet, supports up to 150 lb.
Height range & growth · 9.0
Four tool-free platform heights from 12.36 to 18.27 in.
Storage & footprint · 7.0
Front step folds up, but the tower does not fold flat; 22.28 x 19.56 in.
Safety claims & warranty · 9.0
Tested to ASTM F963-17 and 16 CFR 1307 per maker; lifetime warranty.
Based on documented features and practical tradeoffs, not a hands-on test. Assessment: October 7, 2026. How we score
Best forFamilies who want four platform heights and a high weight limit at a mid-range price
A birch and poplar learning tower with four-sided railings, anti-tip feet and a platform that adjusts to four heights without tools. Its front step folds up so the tower takes less floor space when not in use.
Strengths
Four platform heights from 12.36 to 18.27 in, no tools needed
Supports up to 150 lb; lifetime warranty
Weaknesses
Only the step folds; the tower itself does not fold flat
Rated from age 2, later than towers rated from 18 months
Dimensions, material and details
Age range
2-6 years
Weight limit
Up to 150 lbs
Platform heights
12.36", 14.33", 16.3", 18.27" (4 levels)
Dimensions
Step down: 22.28" L x 19.56" W x 33.50" H; step up: 22.28" L x 17" W x 33.50" H
Material
Layered birch and poplar (EPA TSCA Title VI and FSC compliant, as stated); child-safe, non-toxic paints
Safety (as stated)
Tested to ASTM F963-17 and 16 CFR Part 1307 limits for lead, heavy metals and phthalates, according to Little Partners
Front and back rails, not fully enclosed; anti-tip feet, non-slip treads, 125 lb limit.
Height range & growth · 8.0
Platform adjusts to 13, 15 or 17 in; first step fixed at 8 in.
Storage & footprint · 7.5
Smallest footprint here at 21 x 18 in, but does not fold.
Safety claims & warranty · 6.0
No safety standard named; maker says it is not GREENGUARD Gold certified.
Based on documented features and practical tradeoffs, not a hands-on test. Assessment: October 7, 2026. How we score
Best forSmaller kitchens and parents who want a compact step-up with adjustable platform
A compact wooden step-up with a fixed 8-inch first step, a platform that adjusts to 13, 15 or 17 inches, non-slip treads and anti-tip feet. It has wooden rails across the front and back and supports up to 125 pounds.
Strengths
Smallest footprint here at 21 x 18 in
Three platform heights plus non-slip treads and anti-tip feet
Weaknesses
Rails across the front and back rather than a fully enclosed four-sided design
Does not fold; Guidecraft says the Junior model is not GREENGUARD Gold certified
Dimensions, material and details
Age range
18 months - 5 years
Weight limit
Up to 125 pounds
Platform heights
13", 15" and 17"; first step fixed at 8"
Dimensions
21"W x 18"D x 36"H; platform 20"W x 17.5"D
Material
Wood, with stainless steel hardware
Safety (as stated)
No specific standard named on the page
Assembly
Assembly required; tools, instructions and hardware included
Highest stated limit of 200 lb; enclosure and anti-tip details not stated.
Height range & growth · 6.5
Only two height settings, and the heights are not listed.
Storage & footprint · 6.5
18.8 x 18.29 in, 16.3 lb, minimalist design; no fold or conversion.
Safety claims & warranty · 6.5
Generic claim of meeting ASTM standards; Final Sale, no warranty stated.
Based on documented features and practical tradeoffs, not a hands-on test. Assessment: October 7, 2026. How we score
Best forParents who want a minimalist rubberwood tower with the highest weight limit here
A sustainable rubberwood toddler tower with two adjustable heights and a non-toxic water-based finish. Lalo rates it for 18 months and up and says it supports up to 200 pounds.
Strengths
Highest stated weight limit here: up to 200 lbs
Usable from 18 months; wipes clean with a damp cloth
Weaknesses
Most expensive pick, and listed as Final Sale on Lalo's site
Only two height settings, and Lalo does not list the heights
Dimensions, material and details
Age range
18mo.+ (child should be able to climb in and out on their own before use)
Weight limit
Up to 200 lbs
Platform heights
Two adjustable heights (measurements not stated)
Dimensions
33.35" high x 18.8" wide x 18.29" deep
Weight
16.3 lbs
Material
Rubberwood with a non-toxic water-based finish
Safety (as stated)
"all Lalo products meet and exceed ASTM safety standards and are prop 65 compliant"
Care
Wipe clean with a damp cloth, then dry with a clean towel
Supports up to 175 lb; fixed 18 in platform, enclosure details not stated.
Height range & growth · 7.0
Platform fixed at 18 in; only the access step adjusts (6, 8, 10 in); converts to table.
Storage & footprint · 8.0
Converts to 17 in table and chair; 15.6 in square tower footprint; flat-packed.
Safety claims & warranty · 9.0
ASTM F963 and F2613, GREENGUARD Gold, Intertek listed; 3-year warranty.
Based on documented features and practical tradeoffs, not a hands-on test. Assessment: October 7, 2026. How we score
Best forFamilies who want the tower to double as a toddler table and chair
A birch plywood and pine toddler tower that converts into a table and chair set. It has an 18-inch platform with an access step that adjusts to 6, 8 or 10 inches, and Piccalio lists ASTM F963 and F2613, GREENGUARD Gold and Intertek certifications.
Strengths
Converts into a table (17 in high) and chair for meals and crafts
Supports up to 175 lb; 3-year warranty; GREENGUARD Gold
Weaknesses
Platform height is fixed at 18 in; only the access step adjusts
Flat-packed and needs assembly
Dimensions, material and details
Age range
18 months through 6 years (Piccalio's toddler tower FAQ)
Weight limit
Up to 175 lb (80 kg)
Platform heights
Platform 18 in; step adjustable 6 in / 8 in / 10 in
Dimensions
Tower: 35.4 in H x 15.6 in W x 15.6 in L; table: 17 in H x 16 in W x 36 in L
Weight
16.05 lb (7.28 kg)
Material
FSC birch plywood and New Zealand pine; non-toxic 0-VOC finish or paint
Folds flat for storage, but the largest footprint here at 23 x 23 in.
Safety claims & warranty · 7.5
GREENGUARD Gold certified; other wording is a general 'exceed child safety standards'.
Based on documented features and practical tradeoffs, not a hands-on test. Assessment: October 7, 2026. How we score
Best forKitchens where the tower must fold away between uses
Guidecraft's original folding Kitchen Helper, made from solid hardwood and birch plywood, with a platform that adjusts to 15 or 18 inches, removable front and back panels, anti-tip feet and a chalkboard panel. It folds flat for storage and is GREENGUARD Gold certified.
Strengths
Folds flat; ships almost fully assembled (just attach the feet)
Includes a non-slip mat and two Kitchen Helper Keepers; GREENGUARD Gold
Weaknesses
Only two platform heights (15 or 18 in)
Largest footprint here at 23 x 23 in
Dimensions, material and details
Age range
18 months - 7 years (spec line); FAQ says 18 months to 6 years
Weight limit
Supports 125 pounds
Platform heights
15" or 18"
Dimensions
23"W x 23"D x 36"H
Material
Solid hardwood and birch plywood
Safety (as stated)
GREENGUARD GOLD Certified; 'tested to exceed child safety standards'
Kitchens where the tower must fold away between uses
18 months - 7 years (spec line); FAQ says 18 months to 6 years
Supports 125 pounds
15" or 18"
OUR METHOD
How we scored
Manufacturer specs, not hands-on tests. Each pick is rated out of 10 on four things:
30%Enclosure & stability
25%Height range & growth
20%Storage & footprint
25%Safety claims & warranty
What to look for in a toddler tower
Match age and readinesscheck minimum age and whether your child can climb in alone
Check enclosure and stabilityfour-sided railings, anti-tip feet and non-slip platforms
Plan for storagelook for one that folds flat or converts in a small kitchen
Frequently asked questions
What is the best toddler tower for the kitchen?
The Little Partners Explore 'N Store Learning Tower is our best overall. It has four-sided railings, anti-tip feet and a platform that adjusts tool-free to four heights from 12.36 to 18.27 inches, and it supports up to 150 lb. It is rated for ages 2 to 6 and has a lifetime warranty.
What is the best toddler tower for a small kitchen?
The Guidecraft Classic Kitchen Helper folds flat for storage and ships almost fully assembled, though its footprint is 23 x 23 inches when open. The Guidecraft Jr. Classic Kitchen Helper Step-Up has the smallest footprint at 21 x 18 inches but does not fold. The Little Partners tower has a front step that folds up to take less floor space.
What age is a toddler tower for?
Most towers start at 18 months: Lalo rates The Tower for 18 months and up, Guidecraft's Classic Kitchen Helper and Jr. Classic start at 18 months, and Piccalio says its towers suit 18 months through 6 years. The Little Partners Explore 'N Store is rated for ages 2 to 6. Lalo adds that a child should be able to climb in and out on their own before using it.
Is there a toddler tower that converts into a table and chair?
Yes, the Piccalio Convertible Toddler Tower converts into a 17-inch-high table and chair for meals and crafts. As a tower it has an 18-inch platform with an access step that adjusts to 6, 8 or 10 inches, supports up to 175 lb, and has a 3-year warranty. Piccalio lists GREENGUARD Gold certification.